A use for your rock collection

I have a decent-sized agate collection but all it ever does is sit in a box. I love looking at them (some of them are gorgeous), but don’t really want rocks sitting all over my apartment and even if I did, they would end up getting lost or buried under a pile of papers. While visiting with one of the ladies at our apartment office the other day about her agate collection, I came up with an idea for displaying my agate collection: Put the agates in a vase, jar or other clear container, fill it with water, and stick a plant in it. While Weatherman was napping tonight, I did just that. I found a little vase, filled it with some of my agates, added some water, and stuck a little baby spider plant in it (I think Pothos would probably work well, too). Here are the results:
agatevase2

I think it kind of looks like I pasted the vase into the picture.
I actually set the vase on the railing of our balcony and then took the picture.

agatevase

Lovely agates.

agatevaseplant

A close-up of the baby spider plant.

This certainly didn’t take all my agates, but now at least some of them are out where I can enjoy them!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • J. Money  On June 1, 2009 at 9:56 AM

    ooohhhh I like it! def. a good idea :) esp for those collectors who have them just sitting around or in drawers (like me). thx!

    • Pamela @ Frugal Vet Tech (Student)  On June 3, 2009 at 3:47 PM

      Thanks, J!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

