What is a “Frugal Vet Tech (Student)”?

I’m a non-traditional veterinary technician student. Most of my classmates are just out of high school. I’m not. Some of them are just getting engaged and have most things paid for by their parents. I’m married, have been for four years, and we are paying for (most) everything on our own. We make enough money to pay our bills and even have a little fun, but we’re not swimming in money. I’m forever looking for ways to spend less while still having fun and without eating ramen noodles five days a week. Husband and I both have student loan debt and credit cards that we’re working hard at paying off. I work as the manager of a boarding kennel and Husband is a meteorologist (weather man – and no you won’t see him on TV). We have no children as of yet. We have a Collie and some fish and will someday have lots more critters.

So that’s what a “Frugal Vet Tech (Student)” is (or at least what this one is). What does a person like me write about? Here’s what I’m planning to focus the majority of my posts on:

1. Being a vet tech student. Stories about class, assignments, homework, classmates, and what I’m learning in school. When I’m done with school (sometime in 2009), I’ll add stories related to working as a tech.

2. Being a kennel manager. Working in the pet industry means there’s never a lack of interesting stories to tell.

3. Being frugal. Husband and I are on a mission to pay down our debt, yet still have fun in the process.

4. Living life. Anything else related to life.

Sound fun? It’s not always fun, but it’s usually never boring. Just watch – you’ll see!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Becca  On June 25, 2008 at 1:26 PM

    I can very much relate to your situation. I am 23 and already have a B.A. in journalism. Due to lack of jobs, I am starting vet tech classes in less than two weeks! I’ve always loved animals (have four dogs and have worked for PETA and a local shelter), have been a vegan for 8 years, so I decided it was time for a career change before I was forced to sit at a job I hate everyday. Since I already have class credits, I will be done with vet tech in 1.5 years. Good luck to you!

  • frugalvettech  On June 25, 2008 at 4:36 PM

    Hi, Becca! Good luck with school – I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for commenting . Check back again – I will be posting some pictures from my hematology class. They’ll give you a peek in to what you’ll be learning in a while.

Leave a Reply

