Weekly Links: Visiting Father-in-Law Edition

Matt McGee via flickrMy father-in-law is up visiting for a couple days. He comes and visits us once a year. Each time he comes up he brings us super-yummy potato chips that we can’t get up here (thanks, Dad!), we go out to dinner and then two or three of us go see a baseball game. Husband and his dad are big baseball fans. I’m not as big of a baseball fan, so I opted to stay home this time around. I played some fetch with the dog, entered some blog giveaways (see the end of this post for more information on that), am doing some blog writing, and then will be heading off to bed before it gets too late because I have to work in the morning. Tomorrow starts the last few days of my “busy few weeks” before I fly to my sister’s (I fly out Saturday). I can’t wait until Saturday! Until next time, enjoy the links and good luck if you enter any giveaways.


I forgot to include this link is last week’s edition of weekly links, so I’ll start with it this week: English Major Money posted a fabulous idea for a do-it-yourself spice rack.  I love it! I just may have to try this once we get moved in to our new place.


This is not a new article on the DINK’s page, but it’s a good one.  It’s a quick rundown of some basic rules to try and follow while having money discussions as a couple.  Money and spending habits can certainly be touchy subjects.  If not handled carefully, one or both people can end very hurt and unhappy (been there, done that!).


If you’re looking for some free, customizable documents to help with your budgeting, No Credit Needed may have just what you’re looking for: The No Credit Needed Notebook.  Follow the link at the bottom of the post (NCN’s, not mine) for the second document.  The files are available in multiple formats, including Word, Excel, and Open Office Writer and Calc.


These days, it’s so easy to get mentally lazy.  We have calculators for darn near everything and most everything we can’t calculate can be automated.  My Super Charged Life has twenty ideas for keeping your brain sharp.  One I need to do more often is make music.  Husband gave me a keyboard for Christmas a few years back (not much room for pianos in one-bedroom apartments, otherwise we’d have one) and I don’t play it nearly as often as I would like to.  A fun one on the list is to walk around your house blindfolded!  Walk carefully…


Spilling Buckets (don’t you love that name?) wrote about Information Overload and how they’ve overcome it.  I do a lot of reading online and find so many great recipes to cook or ideas to try, but they end up just getting “lost” because I find so many neat things.  Unlike Spilling Buckets, I have yet to come up a way to overcome this.  I think I need to go re-read the post…


This isn’t a blog post, but it’s a good read nonetheless.  BBC News had an interesting article about life on a little island in the Pacific.  Sounds like the inhabitants live in a fabulous community.  What I found especially interesting was how they adopt each other’s children.  Go read the article; it’s quite good.


MoneyNing is running a gas card giveaway.  There are multiple ways to enter and you have until August 18th to do so.  Even with gas prices falling (at least around here – they’ve over twenty cents in the last two weeks), we can still make good use of a free gas card.  Click on over and get yourself entered!


Speaking of free stuff, The Quarterly Bloggy Giveaways Carnival (whew, that’s a mouthful) is going on right now over at Bloggy Giveaways.  When I last checked, there were over 600 links to blogs giving away free stuff.  I’ve seen giveaways for books, jewelry, gift cards, a baby sling, backpacks, a vacuum, and many other things I don’t remember.


Image Credit: Matt McGee

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jeff@My Super-Charged Life  On July 30, 2008 at 7:27 AM

    Nice blog! I’m going to have to check out the article on information overload. I seem to be struggling from that a lot lately.

    Thanks for the mention!

  • Smellyann  On August 1, 2008 at 4:16 PM

    Congratulations, You’ve won some Soap Nuts from my bloggy giveaway! Please email me your name and address ASAP so I can ship those out to you! Thanks!
    melanie_odette at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

