A Look at the Life of the Frugal Vet Tech Student: Work Day

Here’s what a typical non-school day looks like for this girl:

6:00 AM – Get up, get ready for work (some days I sleep a bit later).

6:30 – 7:00 AM – Pack up the dog and leave for work. The dog usually comes to work with me. What time I leave depends on how much I have to do at work before I open.

7:00 – 7:30 AM – Arrive at work. Let the dogs out. Feed and water them. Clean up any messes. Administer any necessary medications. Make sure the kitties have food and water.

8:00 – 11:00 AM – Check pets in and out, take reservations, answer questions, assist the groomer, etc. Other tasks I may work on include making the schedule for the next month, doing some book keeping, updating records, or write notes to my staff.

11:00 AM – Depending on my work load, I may or may not punch out around 11. If I have a lot to do, I will often work a few extra hours. If I don’t have a lot of extra work, I’ll punch out and either stay here and work on my own stuff (like this blog) or go elsewhere. Every once in a while, I will go home and have a nap. Other times I’ll run errands. Now that school’s in session again, I will often head to my favorite study spot – Caribou Coffee – get a yummy drink, and settle in to one of their comfy chairs for a few hours of studying. Some days I bring my laptop so I can do online classwork, other days I leave it behind, lest I spend my time reading blogs instead of doing homework.

1:00 PM – Time to head back to work and let the dogs out again. If we don’t have a lot of dogs and I have some walks to do, I may do one or two during this time. Sometimes I clean kennels or do other cleaning, too.

2:00 PM – Office is open again. Afternoon tasks are very similar to the morning tasks – answer phones, check pets in and out, give tours, help the groomer, do book work. Sometimes I do some more homework. Other times, if I’m not expecting any pets to arrive or leave, I’ll spend some time cleaning kennels.

5:00 PM – Dinner time for the dogs. This can be a five- or 25-minute project – the time it takes is determined by how many dogs we have.

5:30 PM – The evening person comes in. The evening person closes up the office, does some cleaning, checks the cats again, and lets the dogs out one more time before bed. Some nights I’m the evening person. On nights I’m not the evening person, I usually try get out of here between 5:30 and 6:00 so I can spend at least a little bit of time with my husband before he has to work.

6:00 or 6:30 PM – 8:30 PM – Arrive at home, have dinner with my husband, and see him off to work. After he leaves for work I do assorted things around the apartment.

10:00 PM – Bedtime, so I can rest up and before I do it all over again the next day!

Wondering what a school day is like? Stay tuned – that post is coming up soon!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • J. Money  On September 15, 2008 at 2:58 PM

    hey, this is pretty cool to see!!! so interesting how different people’s days are 🙂

Leave a Reply

