Quiet Time at Work, Studying Abroad, Family Visits

It’s quiet at work right now.  All the children are back in school, it’s mid-week, and it’s chilly and rainy.  I had less than a half-dozen dogs at work today.  Nobody came in this afternoon, nobody went home, save for one dog that was in for a groom.  Last weekend was expected to be busy since the local schools had a four-day weekend, but it was rather underwhelming.  We had fewer than 30 dogs, which is really not a lot for school holiday.  I was hoping for at least 50, but no such luck.  People just aren’t going as many places.  The quiet time at work is nice in some ways, but can also make for some rather long days.  It gives us a chance to get some extra cleaning done, but there’s only so much of that to go around.

With all my quiet time at work today, I was able to do some research on schools.  After I finish my tech degree, I want to go finish up my bachelor’s degree that I started back in 2001.  I only have a year left, if that (depending on how many credits I need to take from whatever school I transfer to).  I sent inquiry e-mails out to three schools.  Two of those schools offer programs for studying abroad.  I would love, love, love to be able to go abroad for a bit.  One of the schools offers month-long sessions for studying abroad.  We might be able to swing that.  I know I couldn’t do a full semester, but there’s a small chance I could do a month.  When I was in college part one, one of the instructors did a trip to Australia with a group of students.  I really wanted to go, but just didn’t have the money.  If I do get to go this time around, I’d like to go to New Zealand, Ireland, Scotland, England, somewhere else in Europe, or possibly Russia.  South America would be neat too.

In school part two news, well, there isn’t much news.  We have our first test in radiology lab on Friday.  I don’t feel ready for it, but I’m getting together with a classmate tomorrow night and we’ll do some review.  We also have two assignments due for Small Animal Medicine II and need to study some Microbiology.  I know I have a test or two in my lectures this week, but I don’t remember which classes.  We had our mid-term in Small Animal Medicine II last week.  I wasn’t sure how well I’d do, since I really wasn’t feeling well and could remember almost nothing in Microbiology Lab that morning, but I ended up with 48/50.  Guess I didn’t do so badly after all!  Microbiology last week was difficult, mostly because of the aforementioned not feeling well.  Our assignments weren’t complex or anything new, I just couldn’t remember anything.  Fortunately, I have a fantastic friend in the class and she helped me through when I got stuck.

That’s the latest around here as far as school and work goes.  My sister and adorable niece just finished a two-week visit back here.  It was absolutely wonderful to see them.  My niece is getting big.  She smiles now, can roll on to her side, and has just started tracking movement with her eyes.  She’s pretty adorable.  As always, I enjoyed the time I had with my sister.  I wish we’d have been able to see more of each other.  I ended up being sick for part of her visit (fortunately it was mostly during the part where she was off visiting her in-laws and friends that don’t live near me), which cut into a bit of our time together, as well as my plans to head out of town for the weekend.  I’m hopeful that she’ll be able to move back here relatively soon.  We had a few years where we didn’t get along, but we get along great now (most of the time) and never seem to get enough time together.

What’s new with you?  Have you studied abroad?  Where did you go?  Did you like it?  I’d love to hear about it!

Photos from kangotraveler and BlueGoa.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

