Happy Thanksgiving

A happy (slightly early) Thanksgiving to those of you in the US.  Hopefully you will get to enjoy the day surrounded by family and friends.  I have to work in the morning, then my husband and I are heading to my parents’ place for a really small get together – just us and them.  Holidays aren’t what they used to be…when I was younger we would get together with my grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.  There’d be a whole houseful of people, lots of food (of course), visiting, laughing, playing, and football watching.  This Thanksgiving will certainly be different.  My husband actually has the day off (it’s rare for him to get holidays off) – something we’re all excited about.

Even though things are tough, take some time out to think about what you do you have and thank God for those things.

Here are a few things I’m thankful for:

My husband.  How could I not be thankful for him?  Crazy-smart, funny, and darn good looking too.  Where else can I go to learn more details of the weather than I ever needed to know? 🙂

My parents.  They’re fantastic.  Much more fantastic than they were when I was 20 (just kidding)!  They’re both pretty special.

My sister.  Every girl should have a sister.  She’s my shoulder to cry on.  My best friend.  My cheerleader.  She makes me laugh.  Plus, she gave me a cute niece.

My niece.  Cutest baby ever.  If only I got to see her more often.

My brother-in-law.  I couldn’t have asked for a better man for my sister.  He takes great care of her (and my niece) and is an all-around good guy.

My in-laws.  They’re great.  No typical “horrible mother-in-law” problems here, either, which is a blessing.

My fluffy Collie.  Yes, she’s annoying.  And useless, from a practicality standpoint.  Expensive, too.  But darn it, she’s so snuggly and entertaining I can’t help but love her.

My job.  I’m thankful that I not only have a job, but that I have a job I (usually) like.  I have four dedicated people working for me and one great boss.

A place to live, (more than) enough food to eat, and money to pay the bills.

What more could I ask for?  I’m pretty blessed.  What are you thankful for this year?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • mikewalzman  On November 26, 2008 at 10:30 PM

    great blog, your work ethic is very inspiring, hope you have a great thanksgiving : )

Leave a Reply

