Reading Books, Listening to Music, and Seeing Family

I read a book today.  It was so nice.  The book wasn’t anything amazing or spectacular – it was just nice to sit down and read a book.  When I’m in school, I don’t do much non-textbook reading.  When I came home between shifts today, I grabbed a fiction book from my ever-growing “Books to Read” pile.  I read some before my nap, then finished the rest at work today.  I worked all three shifts at work today, but it doesn’t feel like it.  I napped this afternoon, but it didn’t seem very restful.  I was dreaming about not being able to wake up from my nap and being so sleepy and tired that I couldn’t drive to work or even walk around.  I got home from work just before nine tonight and didn’t feel worn out.  I loaded up the dishwasher (I’m hoping it will work now that maintenance came and did some work on it), then washed up the rest of the dishes while listening to some music by Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  After that, I ate some Thanksgiving leftovers.  Mmmmm.  Dinner was good, the music was good, and reading that book today was just so, well, delicious.  That’s the only word I can think of to describe it.  Now I’m on my sixth listen of “In My Arms” by Plumb (which I discovered via this post @ CFHusband).  I listened to it multiple times yesterday.  I’m not sure why I’m liking it so much all of the sudden, but I am.  I need to remember to pick up a novel occasionally and to listen to music more often.

Friday I had the opportunity to see my cousin and meet his wife.  I haven’t seen that cousin for a few years, nor had I ever met his wife.  Seeing them was fantastic.  The two-plus hours I spent driving to spend that hour with them was more than worth it.  I debated about going to see them (rather, about driving) because I had to work at school in the morning and the afternoon on Friday and really didn’t feel like spending that much time in the car when I had spent two-plus hours in the car the day before, but I’m very glad I did.  My cousin was quite happy to see me, too.  He and I, along with my sister and his brother, were pretty close growing up.  None of use get to see each other very often but we sure enjoy it when we do.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

