Two Projects for 2009

While I was wasting time stumbling around the web searching for a new blog header (unsuccessfully, thus far) and downloading a trial of Photoshop, I came across something called “Project 365“.  The basic premise seems to be that you take a picture (or save a memento) every day for a year.  You can blog the results, scrapbook them, or just leave them sitting in a box somewhere, never to be seen again.  I really like this idea (taking a picture every day, not leaving the pictures sitting in a box) and I’m going to try and do it <s>this</s> next year (no point in starting a 365-day 2008 project on the 28th of December).  I had considered doing a self-portrait every day for a year, but I think I would get bored with that (maybe one a week would be better)?  I’ll try and post at least some of my photos here (not sure if I’ll get them all up).  When I do, I’ll tag them all with “Project 365” so they can be easily found.

While we’re on the topic of things to do in 2009, here’s another one I want to do – read through my entire Bible.  When I was at church today, I picked up a “2009 Divisional Bible Study Reading Schedule”.  There are seven categories (kind of like there are seven days in a week – how convenient!) – The Law, History, Psalms, Poetry, Prophecy, Gospels, and Epistles (that’s a fun word).  It appears to be a more “fun” take on other “read through the Bible in a year” things I’ve seen – rather than starting at the front of the book and reading X number of chapters a day, you get some variety.  There are all sorts of Bible reading plans out there – 30 days, 90 days, one year, three years, New Testament only, front to back, chronologically, and many others.  If you’re interested in finding one, look here, here or here or just do a web search for “Bible reading plan”.

Are you planning any year-long projects for 2009?  Want to join me in one or both of mine?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jon D. Wilke  On December 29, 2008 at 8:42 AM

    Thanks for the post, sadly most people don’t read their Bible. Barna.org found that 65% of self-identified “Bible readers” have never even read the entire New Testament!
    Many people have started listening to the Word. You and your readers can download a free audio Bible and listen through the NT in only 40 days. It just takes 28 minutes a day. Here’s where you can download free audio Bibles, http://www.FaithComesByHearing.com

Trackbacks

  • By Project 365: Day 1 « Frugal Vet Tech (Student) on January 1, 2009 at 10:29 PM

    […] 1, 2009 · No Comments Today is the starting day of Project 365!  For Day 1, I had trouble deciding what I was going to focus on in my daily picture.  A pillow, […]

Leave a Reply

